ncrebel21's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The day of gifts

Kitty at my foot and I wanna touch it...

Actually, Kitty's on my leg all curled up & sleeping. Awwww...

It's been a while since I last updated (yeah, yeah, I hear ya!) and I have a lot of ground to cover....well, not that much...First and foremost I have to send a big ol' shout out to Sir Zyphun-K for the killer new layout. Not only did he design it, he also installed it. And he used a line from the Rocky Horror Picture Show in his latest entry and that just kicks ass...

Yet another shout out to the almighty Chad for the gift he left at my house while I was off visiting with my Mom and my sister yesterday. It was such a wonderful surprise to come home and find he had bought me my very own copy of Hemingway's "A Moveable Feast." ~yay~ The aforementioned Chad is off to Paris this weekend (Saturday, I think?) so please join me in a moment of silent happy thoughts directed at his safe arrival and return...~pauses, hanging head in quiet reflection~

And the aforementioned sister gave me a wonderful gift as well!! Yes, that's right...I am now the proud, oh so proud, owner of the Billy Joel LP "An Innocent Man." ~yay~

Nothing says love like a purring tabby. One of the best feelings in the world is coming home after a 2 day getaway and being greeted by a purring cat that wants to curl up with you on the couch and catch up on the news...

I had a lovely visit, complete with diet-breaking banana pudding. ~mmmm, nilla wafers~ We played 45's (ya know, the little round things that, with the help of a turntable, play music...), had a couple of drinks (my usual sleep-inducing two drink maximum) and just relaxed, enjoying each others' company. Life was sooooooo good....well, until the pharmaceutical company about 3 miles from my Mom's house exploded. Luckily, none of my family were harmed and Mom's place was far enough away that evacuation was not necessary.

My stepsister, the ingrate, continued her wily ways during my getaway. 'Tis no matter, I am about fed up with the whole situation anyhow. I mean, really, how much effort does it take to hit the power button on her cell phone, dial 7 numbers, hit send, tell someone where she is/what time she's going to be drifting in, hit end and resume her questionable activities?? That's what I thought. It's all good though...I'm bringing in the "big gun"....

I'm calling Dad. hehe.

We are getting quite a bit of rain and wind here. I thought the weather wouldn't be this bad when I got home since the rain at Mom's was merely drizzle and the temperature was comfortable. I get home and it's raining pitchforks & hammer handles, the wind is blowing and it feels 15 degrees colder than at Mom's....silly ol' weather....

Tonight is the beginning of another 4 glorious nights at the hog plant. (calling it by its name would lend more prestige but what fun would that be?)

Alas, as much as I would love to sit here and continue typing what would be the world's longest diaryland entry, I must go prepare for the night's work. I have housework, laundry and other chores to finish before I must depart for the hog plant...

And, by the way, I have another book to add to my ongoing 2003 Reading List....#4. Confederates In The Attic by Tony Horwitz. Good read. It's about parts of American society that are "still fighting the War." Everything from re-enactors to court cases to semi-silly shop owners....very entertaining and educational.

12:38 - 30 January 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

swimmmer72
clock1
invisibledon
squirrelx
aura-chic